Homework?

My eleven year old daughter is quite an apt pupil and it’s a good thing, too. She plans to be a doctor when she grows up so she will need a good study/work ethic.

Occasionally, though I am surprised at what she chooses to study. Rarely is it her Science or Math work, (but thankfully she needs little extra time on these!) often it is things that would seem of little or interest to an eleven year old girl.

Like… Scentsy catalogues. The other morning I came downstairs and saw she was already up, and instead of watching kids tv, reading a book, getting ready for school, playing a game or any of a million other expected activities, she had been copying out one of my catalogues.

Even Scentsy homework is a lot of fun!

I have to say how pleasantly surprised I am at how seriously my kids have taken our new business venture. I thought they would consider is a chore, and would complain about it and not want to be involved. On the contrary, they have enjoyed learning about Scentsy and getting their hands on the product, testing all the scents, picking their favourites and trying to learn them by smell. They talk about Scentsy at school and bring catalogues to their interested teachers. They happily help me with events and seeing my daughter going to this small effort, on her own with no prompting or hinting from me, is so fulfilling for me. I could never share a regular job with my kids like this, and I love how it’s giving us another dimension to our family.

Having my own business isn’t easy, but I’m so glad I chose to join with Scentsy and I can’t wait to see where the future takes my family and I!

Leave a Reply

